Outstanding JNMT Articles for 2019



Jena-Lee McKee



Audrey B. Davis



Melanie Pietryka

athy S. Thomas, MHA, CNMT, PET, editor-in-chief of the *Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology (JNMT)*, and members of the journal's board of editors announced in April the winners of annual awards for outstanding articles. These awards are presented each year to the authors of articles that have contributed significantly to practice, education, and science in the field.

The first-place Editors' Choice Award for 2019 went to Jena-Lee McKee, Mary Beth Farrell, Kathy Hunt, Vivian Loveless, and Charity Brannen from West Tennessee Health-care/Dyersburg Hospital (Dyersburg, TN) for "Efficiency of radiolabeling eggs before and after microwave cooking for gastric emptying scintigraphy studies" (*J Nucl Med Technol*. 2019;47:144–148). The second-place award went to Audrey B. Davis, Melanie H. Pietryka, and Susan Passalaqua from Banner MD Anderson

Cancer Center (Gilbert, AZ) for "Technical aspects and administration methods of ¹⁷⁷Lu-DOTATATE for nuclear medicine technologists" (*J Nucl Med Technol.* 2019;47:288–291). Sarah Frye, Ross Frye, Barbara Sterkel, Razi Muzaffar, and Medhat M. Osman from Clinical

Health Sciences/St. Louis University (MO) received the third-place award for "The need for increased awareness about potential quality control problems in aging γ-cameras" (*J Nucl Med Technol.* 2019;47:223–226).

Geoffrey M. Currie, from Charles Sturt University (Wagga Wagga, Australia) and Regis University (Boston, MA), was the recipient of the award for best continuing education article for "Pharmacology, Part 5: CT and MRI contrast media" (J Nucl Med Technol. 2019;47:189-202). The award for best educators' forum article went to Cybil J. Nielsen, Sarah S. Brosmer, Patrick J. Byrne, and S. Gregory Jennings from the Indiana University School of Medicine (Indianapolis) for "An evaluation of qualities of nuclear medicine technology programs and graduates leading to employability" (J Nucl Med Technol. 2019;47:29-34).

"These excellent articles show the wide range of issues confronting the

increasingly diverse and complex practice of nuclear medicine, including both molecular imaging and therapeutics," said Thomas. "We congratulate this year's awardees and all those whose contributions continue to make *JNMT* a vital resource for our community."



Sarah Frye



Geoffrey Currie



Cybil J. Nielsen

Susan Passalagua