Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology

The spring meeting of the JRCNMT was held April 7–8, 2017, in Indianapolis, IN. During this meeting, the board of directors accepted 1 request for voluntary withdrawal of accreditation and accepted 5 requests for voluntary withdrawal of accreditation due to program closure. Substantive change requests from 3 programs were also approved.

ACCREDITATION ACTIONS

Initial accreditation was granted to the following nuclear medicine technology program:

Stony Brook University (NY), awarded through 2018

Continued accreditation was granted to the following nuclear medicine technology programs:

Augusta University (GA), awarded through 2024 University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics (IA), awarded through 2020

Molloy College (NY), awarded through 2024

Extended accreditation was granted to the following nuclear medicine technology programs:

Frederick Community College (MD), awarded through 2019

Manhattan College (NY), awarded through 2018

The committee is reviewing 5 nuclear medicine technology programs seeking continued accreditation in 2017. Written third-party testimony regarding any nuclear medicine technology program undergoing review may be submitted to the JRCNMT for consideration. Persons desiring to present third-party oral testimony at a board meeting must submit a written request to do so. Third-party testimony, written and oral, must be limited to compliance of the educational program with the 2010 Accreditation Standards for Nuclear Medicine Technologist Education.

The following programs are undergoing review in 2017:

University of Alabama at Birmingham (AL) College of DuPage (IL) Indiana University School of Medicine (IN) University of North Carolina Hospitals (NC) University of Utah Healthcare (UT)

REVISION OF JRCNMT ACCREDITATION STANDARDS

At the spring meeting, the JRCNMT adopted a new 2017 version of the Accreditation Standards for Nuclear Medicine Technologist Education. The effective date for programs to comply with the new standards is July 1, 2018. The standards are available on the JRCNMT website (http://www.jrcnmt.org).



Jan M. Winn, MEd, RT(N), CNMT

JRCNMT BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The 2017 board of directors comprises the following members:

Jimmy Council, MBA, RT(N), CNMT
Anne Ewing, PhD
Tracy Fairless, MA
Vesper Grantham, MEd, RT(N), CNMT
Joseph Hawkins, MSEd, CNMT
Penni Longenecker, PhD, RT(N), CNMT
Charito Love, MD
Gary Lunger, MSRIS, RT(R)(N)
Darlene Metter, MD, FACR
Partha Sinha, MD, MBA
Mary St. Peter, BS, RT(R)(N)(M), CNMT, FASRT
Andrew Trout, MD
Kara Weatherman, PharmD, BCNP, FAPhA

2017 JRCNMT OFFICERS

Chairman: Penni Longenecker, PhD, RT(N), CNMT Vice-Chairman: Partha Sinha, MD, MBA Secretary-Treasurer: Vesper Grantham, MEd, RT(N), CNMT

NEXT MEETING OF JRCNMT

The next meeting of the JRCNMT is scheduled for October 6–7, 2017, in Oklahoma City.

Jan M. Winn, MEd, RT(N), CNMT

Executive Director, Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology