#### ELAINE J. CUKLANZ, MS, MT(ASCP)NM, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

#### MEETINGS

At the JRCNMT semiannual meeting September 26 through 28 in Whitefish, MT, the Board of Directors:

- Approved 22 personnel and 14 program changes;
- Considered one follow-up and eight progress reports from accredited programs;
- Granted recognition to 28 new clinical affiliates;
- Granted continued accreditation to:

Baptist Health, Little Rock, AR; Harbor-UCLA Medical Center, Torrance, CA, (program transfer from CSU-Dominguez Hills, Carson, CA);

Delgado Community College, New Orleans, LA; and Central Maine Medical Center, Lewiston, ME.

• And granted initial accreditation to:

St. Vincent's Medical Center, Jacksonville, FL;

- Middle Georgia Technical College, Warner Robbins, GA;
- Aultman Hospital, Canton, OH; and

Cuyahoga Community College, Parma, OH.

The Review Committee will schedule site visits to 15 programs seeking continued accreditation and four programs seeking initial accreditation during 2003. A list of programs undergoing review for the year 2003 is appended at the end of this article. Written third party testimony may be submitted regarding any nuclear medicine technology program undergoing review. Persons desiring to present third-party oral testimony must submit a written request. Third-party testimony, written and oral, must be limited to the educational program's compliance with the Essentials and Guidelines for an Accredited Educational Program for the Nuclear Medicine Technologist.

The spring meeting of the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology will be held April 4–5, 2003.

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

The 2003 members of the board of directors include the following representatives of the sponsoring organizations:

#### American College of Radiology

William L. Ashburn, MD Robert E. Henkin, MD Richard S. Rome, MD

### American Society of Radiologic Technologists

Patricia Bynum, MEd, RT(R), (N), CNMT

Elaine M. Markon, MS, RT(N), CNMT Jan Winn, MEd, RT(N), CNMT

#### Society of Nuclear Medicine

Michael J. Blend, PhD, DO Peter T. Kirchner, MD Johnny W. Scott, PhD, MD

#### Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologist Section

Paul E. Christian, CNMT Kristen Waterstram-Rich, MS, CNMT Susan C. Weiss, CNMT

#### **Public Members**

Thomas G. Richmond, PhD Rev. Robert J. Schrank (Em) BA, TH Dip

### JRCNMT OFFICERS

Officers elected for 2003 are: Chairman, Peter T. Kirchner, MD Vice-Chairman, Jan M. Winn, MEd, RT(N)

Secretary-Treasurer, Robert E. Henkin, MD

#### REVIEW/REVISION OF ESSENTIALS AND GUIDELINES FOR AN ACCREDITED EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM FOR THE NUCLEAR MEDICINE TECHNOLOGIST

The JRCNMT began the process for the review and revision, as needed, of the Essentials and Guidelines for an Accredited Educational Program for the Nuclear Medicine Technologist at the summer workshops held during the annual meetings of the ASRT, SNM, and SNMTS.

After these workshops, a survey assessing the validity and reliability of the current standards was sent to all program directors, medical directors, administrators, clinical affiliate supervisors, and academic affiliate advisors. The results of this survey along with the responses to suggestions identified during the workshops were considered by the board of directors during the fall meeting. A draft of the proposed revisions to the Essentials and Guidelines for an Accredited Educational Program for the Nuclear Medicine Technologist will be distributed to the sponsoring organizations and program directors. Anyone wishing to provide input into the revision of the Essentials and Guidelines is welcome to submit written comments to the office. The current Essentials and Guidelines may be found on our website at www. jrcnmt.org.

#### JRCNMT RECOGNITION

JRCNMT policy requires that it seek and maintain recognition as a specialized (programmatic) accrediting agency from the applicable private and public sector bodies. Fulfilling these responsibilities, the JRCNMT submitted applications for continued recognition to the United States Department of Education (USDE) and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) in 2001 and 2002 respectively. The USDE and CHEA recognize regional, national, and specialized accrediting bodies through a process of evaluation, certifying that they meet acceptable levels of quality and performance. Each agency reviewed the applications and conducted open hearings attended by the Chairman, Peter T. Kirchner, MD, and Executive Director, Elaine J. Cuklanz, MS.

The JRCNMT was notified December 17, 2001, that continued recogni-

tion for a period of 5 years was recommended by the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity of the Untied States Department of Education. The Secretary of Education, Rod Paige, PhD, concurred with this recommendation and accordingly will list the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology as a nationally recognized accrediting agency for the accreditation of higher education programs for the nuclear medicine technologist.

At its meeting last April 30, the CHEA Board of Directors reviewed the recommendation of the CHEA Committee on Recognition regarding the recognition application submitted by the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology. The board of directors accepted the committee recommendation and recognized the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology. The recognition is for a period of 10 years. The scope of recognition is for postsecondary degree and certificate programs in nuclear medicine technology.

# Accredited Programs Undergoing Review in 2003

University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL

University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Medical Center, Miami, FL

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta, GA

Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN

Jefferson Community College, Louisville, KY

Ferris State University, Big Rapids, MI

St. Mary's University of Minnesota, Winona, MN

SUNY At Buffalo, Buffalo, NY Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY

Molloy College, Rockville Centre, NY University of North Carolina Hospitals, Chapel Hill, NC

St. Elizabeth Hospital Medical Center, Youngstown, OH

Cedar Crest College, Allentown, PA

Wheeling Jesuit University, Wheeling, WV

## Programs Requesting Initial Accreditation in 2003

Kaiser Permanente School of Allied Health Sciences, Richmond, CA

Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago, IL

St. Francis Hospital of New Castle, New Castle, PA

Baylor Medical Center, Dallas, TX



The Technologist Section of the Society of Nuclear Medicine