History of the JRCNMT

arle M. Chapman, MD, member of the Council on Medical Education of the American Medical Association (AMA), chaired the organizational meeting of the Joint Review Committee (Board of Schools) on October 27, 1969, at the Marriott Motor Hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Representatives at this meeting were:

American College of Radiology, Kenneth R. McCormack, MD

American Society of Clinical Pathologists, Marvine Weatherby, MD

American Society for Medical Technology (renamed American Society for Clinical Laboratory Sciences in 1992),

Nellie May Bering, MT(ASCP)NM

American Society of Radiologic Technologists, Walter H. Lange, RT(ARRT)

Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologists,

Ray W. Dielman, RT(ARRT)

Society of Nuclear Medicine, W. Newlon Tauxe, MD.

The participants agreed to request that their organizations appoint two representatives to the Joint Review Committee (JRCNMT).

The first meeting of the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology was held January 4, 1970. The sponsoring organizations included the American College of Radiologists, the American Society for Medical Technology, the American Society of Clinical Pathologists, the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, the Society of Nuclear Medicine and the Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologists. The Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologists, one of the original sponsors, terminated its corporate status as a professional organization and relinquished its sponsorship to the Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologist Section in 1975. The American Society of Clinical Patholo-

gists and the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Sciences withdrew from sponsorship in 1994. Members of the board of directors appointed by the Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologist Section since 1975 have included the following:

Mark Muilenburg 1975-1979 Elaine J. Cuklanz 1975-1980 Joan McKeown 1979-1983 James Langan 1981-1987 Michael Cianci 1983-1985 Sheila Rosenfeld 1986-1993 Maria Nagel 1988-1994 Susan Weiss 1994-present Paul Christian 1995-present.

The JRCNMT, in collaboration with the AMA Council of Medical Education (CME), began accrediting educational programs for nuclear medicine technologists in 1970. In 1976, the CME delegated to the newly formed Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation (CAHEA) the responsibility and authority for allied health education accreditation in collaboration with the respective review committees. Following the dissolution of CAHEA as of June 1994, the JRCNMT assumed responsibility for the accreditation of nuclear medicine technology programs. Current membership includes three representatives of each sponsor and two public members.

The Essentials and Guidelines for an Accredited Educational Program for the Nuclear Medicine Technologist were originally adopted by the collaborating organizations in 1969. The Essentials were substantially revised in 1976, 1984 and 1991.

Recognition by the U.S. Secretary of Education was originally granted upon application in 1974. The secretary continues to recognize the JRCNMT as the authority to accredit nuclear medicine technology programs. Recognition of the JRCNMT by the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation (CORPA), formerly the Council of Postsecondary Accreditation, was initiated in 1983. Recognition was granted in the same year and has been ongoing since then.