NMTCB Report Helen M. Drew, CNMT,

Chairwoman

ne of the strengths of the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board lies in the dedication of the technologists, physicians, and scientists who voluntarily serve as members of the Board of Directors. To date approximately 51 individuals have been elected to serve as Directors. Each year at this time the Board seeks nominations from the Technologist Section of the Society of Nuclear Medicine to fill vacancies of its technologist Directors. Nominations are submitted to the Board through the National Council of Delegates of each Society Chapter or by individuals who write directly to the NMTCB office. I would like to again review the qualifications and duties of the Board members in order to encourage qualified individuals to seek this rewarding position.

The qualifications for technologist members of the Board include:

- 1. A candidate must be qualified in nuclear medicine technology through high professional standards as reflected by clearly demonstrated educational and academic background. This must be demonstrated in the following ways: a) at least five years of continuous practice in the field of nuclear medicine technology; b) certification by the NMTCB; and c) active involvement in nuclear medicine technology affairs for at least three years at the chapter or national level.
- 2. A technologist candidate must be and remain a member of the Technologist Section, Society of Nuclear Medicine.
- 3. A technologist candidate shall have demonstrated an interest in the Board in the following ways: being an item writer or having attended an item writer's workshop, or having expressed an interest by submitting his/her name as a candidate for election in prior years. In addition, the candidate must have sufficient time available for fulfillment of duties as a Director of the Board.

The Board of Directors is made up of

15 members: 11 technologists from the Technologist Section, SNM; one physician from the Society of Nuclear Medicine; one technologist and one physician from the Board of Registry of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP); and the Chairman of the Advisory Council. Each Director serves a four-year term except the Chairman of the Advisory Council, whose term is two years. The Board meets semiannually (in the spring and in the fall) and is the governing body of the NMTCB. All Directors vote in the decision-making process and have equal voice. Directors do not report to or vote on behalf of their sponsoring organizations, since the NMTCB is apolitical and is an independent organization. Participation in other certification activities, including state licensing boards, while serving on the NMTCB is considered a conflict of interest and is prohibited.

At the spring meeting newly elected Directors must attend an Orientation Session, which covers the policies and goals of the Board presented by the Chairman and the Executive Director. An examination development session covering item writing and editing, task analysis and exam matrices, and exam psychometric analysis is conducted by the Examination and Task Analysis Committee Chairmen and the Board's psychometrician.

All Directors are appointed as a member or chairperson of committees by the Chairman. The Committees of the Board are: ByLaws, Competency, Credentials, Examination, Finance, Long Range Planning, Publications, and Task Analysis. Each Director must attend all Board and assigned committee meetings and review meeting agendas to prepare to take an active role in the decision-making process.

The most critical responsibility of the Board of Directors is the development and maintenance of a criterion-referenced examination. This process is made up of three components: 1) examination development; 2) exam administration;

and 3) exam scoring and analysis. Each Director is assigned to one of four content areas for exam development, including writing and editing items. They participate in the development process by following an exam matrix based upon a validated task list. Each Director reviews and approves the final exam form. Exam development requires approximately two-thirds of each Board meeting. New Directors are trained in this process by the more experienced members by active participation.

Exam administration includes review of the conditions of test sites, proctors, and the need for action to correct problems. Exam analysis and scoring includes reviewing exam results, including item statistics and examinee comments.

Board membership requires dedication, a willingness to share talents and ideals, and the sacrifice of time for the improvement of the nuclear medicine profession. Each Director is selected based upon his/her past performance as a leader in the profession. The current high quality of our certification program was built from many precious hours of hard work by dedicated individuals possessing the above qualities. Continuation of this process depends upon qualified individuals, like yourself, placing their names in for nomination. The satisfaction felt through a Director's knowledge that they have made a significant contribution to the high standards of the nuclear medicine profession makes the hard work and long hours worthwhile.

1989 NMTCB Directors

The National Council of the Technologist Section of the Society of Nuclear Medicine have elected the NMTCB Directors for 1989. These individuals will serve a four-year term. The electees are: Touissaint Battison, CNMT; Robert Bowen, CNMT; and Mark Crosthwaite, CNMT. The Society of Nuclear Medicine has elected David Preston, MD, as NMTCB Director. The ASCP Board of Registry has elected Richard Nuccio, CNMT, as NMTCB Director.